2019 - 2020 Legislation
The COVID-19 pandemic and projected 2020-21 state budget deficits have significantly affected, and decreased, the number of legislative bills of every member of the Legislature. Here is a list of my legislative efforts for the 2019-2020 legislative cycle that were signed into law.
SB 334: Requires the Department of Public Health (DPH) to establish a streamlined education and training program for a medical laboratory technician (MLT) to become a clinical laboratory scientist (CLS), by January 1, 2022.
SB 129: Requires annual health plan and insurer enrollment reporting to include enrollment data for products sold inside and outside of Covered California, any other business lines, and multiple employer welfare arrangements; and requires the California Department of Insurance (CDI) and the Department of Managed Health Care (DMHC) to publicly report annual enrollment data no later than April 15th of each year.
SB 343: Eliminates provisions in health insurance rate filing requirements that permit Kaiser Permanente (Kaiser) health plans and insurers to report medical trend assumptions in a different manner than other health plans, including reporting trends in fewer categories, and eliminates provisions in hospital OSHPD (Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development) reporting requirements that permit Kaiser hospitals to report certain data as a group rather than by individual facility, and to not have to report certain financial data.
SB 276: Requires the Department of Public Health (DPH) to develop an electronic, statewide, standardized medical exemption request form for immunization requirements in existing law. Requires DPH to make the request form available for use by physicians and to be transmitted directly to a state database. Requires the request form to be the only medical exemption documentation that a governing authority may accept. Requires DPH to create a standardized system to monitor immunization levels in schools and institutions, and to monitor patterns of unusually high exemption form submissions by a particular physician.
SB 543: Removes the sunset date on existing law authorizing individuals on a pedicab to consume alcohol on the pedicab.
SB 714: Amends certain provisions of SB 276 (Pan, 2019) and becomes operative when SB 276 is enacted and becomes effective. Allows a child who has a medical exemption issued before January 1, 2020, to be allowed to continue enrollment until the child enrolls in the next grade span, as specified, and would prohibit, on and after July 1, 2021, a governing authority from unconditionally admitting or readmitting to these institutions, or admit or advance any pupil to 7th grade level, unless the pupil has been immunized or has a medical exemption through a procedure that includes the completion of a compliant statewide form. Removes the requirement that the statewide form be signed under penalty of perjury. Modifies which physicians and surgeons are eligible to issue a medical exemption.
SB 275 – Requires the Department of Public Health (DPH) and the Office of Emergency Services (OES) to establish a personal protective equipment (PPE) stockpile, and requires certain health care employers, including hospitals and skilled nursing facilities (SNFs), to maintain an inventory of PPE at least sufficient for 45 days of surge consumption, effective on January 1, 2023, or one year after regulations are adopted defining 45 days of surge consumption, whichever is later.
SB 406 - Rewrites two provisions of the Affordable Care Act, extends, the California Health Benefits Review Program and other operational authority to 2022, and makes other technical and conforming changes to existing law.
SB 852 - Requires the California Health and Human Services Agency to enter into partnerships to increase competition, lower prices, and address shortages in the market for generic prescription drugs, to reduce the cost of prescription drugs for public and private purchasers, taxpayers, and consumers, and, to increase patient access to affordable drugs.